WESTERN DUBUQUE COUNTY COMMUNITY SCHOOL DISTRICT Board of Education Minutes Workshop Session August 8, 2011 – 5:30 p.m.

Call to Order:

Board President Bob McCabe called the meeting to order at 5:30 p.m. in the Board Room – District Administration Office, Farley, Iowa.

Roll Call:

Present were Bob McCabe, Jeanne Coppola, Mark Knuth, Gary McAndrew, Barb Weber and Superintendent Jeff Corkery.

Grand Opening Plans:

Superintendent Corkery reviewed the itinerary for the grand opening and ribbon cutting ceremonies planned for Sunday, August 21st for the Drexler Middle School addition and the new school in Dyersville. Events will begin at 12:30 pm at Dyersville and 3:00 pm at Farley.

Enrollment Information:

Enrollment information based on student registrations as of August 8th for each of the schools was reviewed. Student counts indicate an increase over last year of over 90 students. Final numbers will not be known until the Certified Count date on October 3, 2011.

School Board Elections:

Board seats from Director Districts 2, 4 and 5 are up for re-election to four years terms at the September 13, 2011 School Board Elections. Barb Weber from Director District 5 is not seeking re-election. Jeanne Coppola – District 2, Gary McAndrew – District 4 and Chad Vaske District 5 have filed papers for the positions. No other candidates have filed papers. It was the consensus of the Board to set the polling hours to be from 12:00 noon to 8:00 pm and to use paper ballots.

Storm Water – Runoff:

Superintendent Corkery reviewed concerns of an adjacent property owner at the Farley site with regard to water flowing into their property during heavy rainfalls and several options that are under consideration by the District.

Other Topics of Discussion:

Future plans for the Drexler MS Library, bussing of Out-of-District students, storm water seepage at the Drexler Middle School, No Child Left Behind – identified schools in need of assistance, renewal of the Instructional Support Program and attendance at the State School Board Convention.

Adjournment:

Motion by Weber, second by McAndrew to adjourn. Motion passed 5-0. The meeting adjourned at 6:45 pm on August 8, 2011.

David A. Wegmann Board Secretary Robert McCabe President, Board of Education